In 1891 a State of New Hampshire law made it possible for any town to establish a free library by a town vote and a minimum appropriation of \$25.00. In March of 1892 at the town meeting, Weare voted to establish a free library. The State gave one hundred books to the town. Previously Weare had several small libraries in different parts of town. In 1793 the first was incorporated at South Weare. A Friends Library located in the Friends district was established in 1809, the Weare Union Library of Weare Center incorporated in 1829 by the state legislature, and in 1884 the North Weare library was established. The small libraries closed and some of their books were given to the Weare Free Library. The Weare Free Library was located at Miss Eva Simmons' home in Weare Center, and Miss Simmons became the first librarian of the Weare Free Library. The Weare Free Library move to the Stone Memorial Building in 1896 in the south room. The town was increasing in population and a need for a bigger library was required. In 1924 Eben L. Paige left his entire estate, \$30,000, to the town of Weare to be used to build a new library next to the Stone Memorial Building in Weare Center. The new library was built and dedicated as the Paige Memorial Library in 1927. The cost for the one-story brick building with a basement was approximately \$18,000; the balance of the money left by Mr. Paige was set aside to support the library with the exception of \$5,000 to go to the Weare High School. The new library would take care of the town's need for the next 64 years.

Eventually the town outgrew the Paige Memorial Library, and in September of 1990 a special Town Meeting was held "to see if the town is in favor of the newly proposed Paige Memorial Library addition to the back of the Paige Memorial Library." The addition included 3,240 sq. feet at a cost of \$230,790. The vote was unanimously affirmative. The Weare Public Library Trustees, Selectmen and Building Advisory Committee worked to bring Phase I of the expansion project to completion. Phase II consisted of a children's room and a meeting space. These funds came from a federal grant of \$28,000 with matching funds from the Sawyer Charitable Trust, John Pierce, and Library Trust Funds.

Weare Librarians

Eva Simmons	1892-1935	Bess Myhr	1979-1998
Blanche Gunn	1935-1955	Chris Hague	1998-2015
Dorothy Dum	1955-1958	Mike Sullivan	2015-2019
Eva Purington	1958-1960	Clay Kriese	2020-
Marion Adams	1960-1979		

By Sherry Burdick